About us

The Southern African Development Community Parliamentary Forum (SADC PF) was established in 1997 in accordance with Article 9 (2) of the SADC Treaty as an autonomous institution of SADC It is a regional inter-parliamentary body composed of Thirteen (14) parliaments representing over 3500 parliamentarians in the SADC region. These member parliaments are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South, Africa, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The Forum seeks to bring regional experiences to bear at the national level, to promote best practices in the role of parliaments in regional cooperation and integration as outlined in the SADC Treaty and the Forum Constitution. Its main aim is to provide a platform for parliaments and parliamentarians to promote and improve regional integration in the SADC region, through parliamentary involvement.

The objectives of the Forum address a wide range of issues, including but not limited to:

  1. Promotion of human rights, gender equality, good governance, democracy and transparency;
  2. Promotion of peace, security and stability;
  3. Hastening the pace of economic cooperation, development and integration on the basis of equity and mutual benefits;
  4. Facilitating networking with other inter-parliamentary organizations;
  5. Promoting the participation of non-governmental organisations, business and intellectual communities in SADC activities;
  6. Familiarising the peoples of SADC with the aims and objectives of SADC; and
  7. Informing SADC of the popular views on development and issues affecting the region.
Last modified on mardi, 20 octobre 2020 16:18

À propos de nous

Le Forum parlementaire de la Communauté de développement de l'Afrique australe (SADC PF) a été créé en 1997 conformément à l'article 9 (2) du Traité de la SADC en tant qu'institution autonome de la SADC. Il s'agit d'un organe interparlementaire régional composé de treize (14) parlements représentant plus de 3500 parlementaires dans la région de la SADC.

Nous contacter

Adresse: ERF 578, Love rue près de Robert Mugabe Avenue Windhoek, Namibie

Tél: (+264 61) 287 00 00